The 640 Heritage Preservation Foundation Board of Directors & Staff

Board of Directors, Officers

  • Barbara Kimport
    Barbara Kimport holds an A.B. in Public Affairs from the University of Chicago and a J.D. from Stanford Law School. A former vice president of the Junior League of San Francisco, Barbara also headed the boards of trustees of the Katherine Delmar Burke School and The Urban School. Non-profit development efforts which she has headed include the San Francisco AIDS Foundation, the San Francisco YMCA, the San Francisco Zoo, and the San Francisco Art Institute.  A relatively new member of the Metropolitan Club, she also serves on the Club’s Finance Committee.
  • Molly Brant
    Vice President
    Committees: Nominating, Editor: The 640 Report
    Molly served two terms as president of the Metropolitan Club, overseeing the preservation/renovation project of the 640 Sutter Street historic clubhouse.
  • Jo-Ann Rose
    Jo-Ann Rose joined the 640 Foundation Board in 2014 following membership in the Metropolitan Club in 2013. She is currently a Senior Managing Director with First Republic Bank.  Jo-Ann is a graduate of Rosemont College, Rosemont, PA, and she did graduate work in Finance at Golden Gate University.  Ms. Rose is a Past President of Financial Women of San Francisco (FWSF) and the Financial Women of San Francisco Scholarship Fund.  Jo-Ann also served as a Board Member of the San Francisco Child Abuse Prevention Center, Past President of the San Francisco Child Abuse Prevention Society, Past-Chair of Old St. Mary’s Cathedral Finance Council and Secretary of the San Francisco Landmark #2 Fund.
  • Marie Berggren
    Marie served as the Chief Investment Officer responsible for overseeing the University of California system-wide investment portfolio until her retirement in 2013. She reported to the Board of Regents. Before joining the Treasurer’s Office in 2002, Ms. Berggren was Executive Vice President/Department Head of Venture Capital Investments for Bank One Corporation. Ms. Berggren earned her MS in management from Stanford University Graduate School of Business. She has served on numerous Private Equity Firms’ Advisory Boards. She currently serves as a Director of the California Audubon Society. She was named Woman of the Year by the Financial Women’s Association in 2006.

Board of Directors

  • Helene Ettelson
    Committees: Elizabeth Pillsbury Society for Planned Giving, Tribute Program
    Helene is active in the Metropolitan Club’s Bridge Committee and serves on the Board of CPMC where she has volunteered extensively.


  • Maria Hilakos Hanke
    Maria holds a B.A. from Washington University in St. Louis, an M.A. from Stanford University, and a J.D. from San Francisco Law School. She practiced law in San Francisco, Palo Alto, and recently retired from the Office of Legislative Counsel in Sacramento. She serves on the Metropolitan Club’s Membership Appreciation Committee and Food and Beverage Committee. Maria resides in Mill Valley and San Francisco, and serves on the Board of the Mill Valley Outdoor Art Club. And, she once raised llamas on a ranch in the Sierra Foothills.


  • Donna DiGiuseppe Matcovich
    Donna studied Humanities at UC Berkeley, including a year in Venice at Ca’ Foscari, focusing on the northern Italian Renaissance. After a law degree from the University of San Francisco and many years practicing law, she returned to her passion for the Italian Renaissance, earning a Master’s degree in History at San Francisco State University with a thesis on Sofonisba Anguissola (c.1535-1625). She lectures frequently on Sofonisba, including at Progetto Sofonisba in Palermo, Sicily and has traveled the world to view Sofonisba’s work. She lives with her husband and sons in San Francisco, California and Abruzzo, Italy. Her novel Lady in Ermine about the 16th century artist Sofonisba Anguissola is set to be published in late 2018 .


  • Peggy Mitchell
    Committees: Events, Centennial Gala Co-Chair
    Peggy is active with the Metropolitan Club’s Membership Committee and is retired from her position as Director of Development and Alumni at the Town School for Boys, where she led numerous capital campaigns. In 2008, she co-chaired the 640 Foundation’s Landmark Gala event, and will co-chair a repeat event in the Club’s in November 2015 in honor of the Club’s centennial.


  • Gee Gee Platt
    Committees: Community & Historic Outreach,
    Gee Gee is a Historic Preservation Consultant with G. Bland Platt & Associates.  Her career in the historic preservation field began with her San Francisco County Chairmanship of the Junior League’s Historic Sites Survey published in 1968 as Here Today…, and her 1966 appointment to San Francisco’s  initial Landmarks Preservation Advisory Board during which time she also was a trustee of the California Historical Society. She also served on the boards of the California Preservation Foundation and San Francisco Architectural Heritage.  She is currently a member of San Francisco’s Historic Preservation Fund Committee.


  • Carol Ann Rogers
    Director,  Founder
    Committees: Nominating, Centennial Gala Co-Chair
    Carol Ann is a past president, not only of the 640 Foundation, but also of the Metropolitan Club, where she has served on many committees.  She helped spear-head the nomination of the 640 Sutter Street building to the National Register of Historic Places in 2004. She was also President of the Junior League and a docent for the SF Architectural Heritage.


  • Misty W. Tyree
    Director, Immediate Past President
    Misty has held many positions in the leadership of the Metropolitan Club, including serving on the Board of Directors, ad-hoc committees, Bridge, and Membership committees.  Currently, she is the Bulletin editor.  She has served on the National Board of her sorority and held other national positions.  Professionally she was a sales representative, teacher, and kitchen designer.

Past Board Members

  • Joni Beemsterboer
  • Alice Ross Carey, Founder & Past President
  • Denise Decker
  • Helen Culiner
  • Olga Dollar, Founder
  • Margaret Handelman
  • Anthea Hartig
  • Susan Cook Hoganson, Past President
  • Patricia Calfee Picache
  • Karen Rose, Past President & Treasurer
  • Camilla Smith